About the Award

Fairway Holdings is the title sponsor of the Fairway Galle Literary Festival, which was revived in 2016 after an interval with its events spread over three weeks not only in Galle but also in Kandy and Jaffna. The Fairway National Literary Award was created to reward novelists of all three languages: Sinhala, Tamil and English in Sri Lanka. It aims not only to acknowledge the efforts of outstanding writers, but also to inspire and encourage upcoming local writers as well.

An independent panel of jurors selects the winners of the award every year. In its inaugural year, a total of 89 submissions were received: 69 in Sinhala, 5 in Tamil and 16 in English. Winners were selected according to the criteria developed by the expert panel of jurors: Lal Medawattegedara, Tissa Jayatilaka, Shyamalee Tudawe, Harshana Rambukwella, Dr. Sunil Wijesiriwardena, Dr. Nirmal Ranjith Devasiri, Pro

Read More

2018 Fairway Literary Award.